Oregon

Check Out Our Calendar for the Next Dates

 

Oregon Concealed Handgun Course:
The Basic Handgun Class is Designed to Accomplish Three Things:
1.     Increase knowledge of firearms
2.     The NRA’s three rules for safe gun handling
3.     Provide certification for the student to apply for their concealment license in the state of Oregon.  
The student will learn about basic firearm safety, ammunition, knowledge & handling of a firearm, how to operate a pistol, basic shooting skills, basic Oregon gun law, home security, non-lethal options, and safe storage of a firearm.  Students will fire approximately 50 rounds in this class. 
What to Bring:
 
1.     Valid Photo ID
Price: $50.00 per person
 
Eligibility 
To qualify for a concealed handgun license you must:
-           Be a U.S. citizen.  You may apply if you are not a U.S. citizen provided that you have lived in Oregon for at least six months and have written proof that you have declared your intent to become a citizen with the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service.
-           Be at least 21 years old.
-           Be a resident of Oregon.
-           Not have any outstanding warrants for your arrest.
-           Not be awaiting trial in a criminal matter or currently completing a diversion agreement.  Minor traffic infractions such as speeding do not count as a criminal             matter.  Traffic crimes such as DUII are a criminal matter.
-           Never been convicted of a felony.
-           Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor within the last four years.
-           Never have been convicted of a crime of domestic violence.
-           Not have been found to be mentally ill under ORS 426.130.
-           Not be subject to a stalking order or restraining order.
-           Not be an unlawful user of, or addicted to, a controlled substance.
-           Not have been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions.
-           Not be required to register as a sex offender in any state.
-           If you were under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court for certain offenses, it must be more than four years since discharge.
-           You must show written proof of competence with a handgun as defined by statutes.
-           Pass a background check. 
Background Check
During the background check, information you put on your application is verified and your criminal history, contacts with law enforcement, and information from acquaintances are checked.  Oregon law allows the sheriff to deny a concealed handgun license if there are reasonable grounds to believe that you have been or are reasonably likely to be a danger to self or others, or to the community at large, as a result of your mental or psychological state, as demonstrated by a past pattern of behavior or participation in incidents involving violence or the threat of violence.  You may be denied if you have a history which shows an inclination toward confrontation with others, including neighbors or family members, a history of conflict with law enforcement officers, offenses with firearms, or documented problems with alcohol and/or drug abuse.
Oregon and Federal laws prohibit a person from owning or possessing a gun if they have had a felony conviction that was reduced to a misdemeanor after completion of probation, any convictions of misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence, have been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces, have renounced their citizenship, or are subject to a court protective order that was issued after a hearing in which the person had an opportunity  to participate and restrains the person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner or the child of such intimate partner.
If any of these conditions apply to you and you nonetheless feel you are eligible for a license, bring appropriate documentation, dates and explanation of circumstances including copies of any applicable pardons, certificates of discharge, or court orders surrounding your circumstances for further consideration.
Proof of Competency
The following are accepted as proof of competency:
-           Completion of any N.R.A. firearms safety course.
-           Completion of any firearms safety course given by N.R.A. certified instructors.
-           Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety course.
-           Written evidence of experience with a handgun through participation in organized shooting competition.
-           Written evidence of experience with a handgun through military service.
NOTE:  Due to differing requirements, an out of state concealed handgun license may not satisfy the competency requirements
Application Process (Linn County)
Applications may be obtained from the Sheriff’s Office or downloaded from this website. You may apply Monday through Friday 8 am to 11:30 am and 1 pm to 4:30 pm at the Civil Division located in Room 317 at the Courthouse – 300 SW 4th Avenue, Albany.  You must bring your proof of competency at the time of application.  The fee is $50 payable by cash, check, or money order.  They do not accept credit cards.  There is also a $15 fee to process your fingerprints if you have never had a license before.  This must be paid in a check or money order made payable to Oregon State Police.
 

Oregon

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer